Skip to content

Why Is Cocoa Powder Vegan? Read Here!

  • Mike 

Is Cocoa Powder Acceptable for Vegans?

Yes, cocoa powder is acceptable for vegans. It is also an excellent alternative for those allergic to dairy or gluten.

But, if you are vegan and like to use chocolate chips, you can buy those items in bulk at discount stores such as Costco.

Cocoa powder is a dry food product made from the cocoa seeds of the cocoa tree. It is high in antioxidants and is an excellent source of dietary fiber.

Vegan cocoa powder has a mild chocolate flavor and is often used to add a rich chocolate taste. Varieties of cocoa powder are a great way to boost the nutrition of your plant-based diet.

It is an addition to your kitchen for vegans who like cocoa powder because of its versatility. You can use the unsweetened cocoa powder for other fats in your cooking, and you can use it in raw desserts.

It is an excellent alternative for anyone who wants to cut animal products from their diet.

What is cocoa powder and how is it made?

Cocoa Powder is a natural product derived from raw cacao beans. It is also known as chocolate liquor. Products in cocoa powder are made from dried beans which contain about 20% fat.

When making cocoa powder, the fat is removed by roasting the beans. It removes most of the moisture and leaves behind the solid fats, called cocoa butter.

Steps to make cocoa powder:

STEP 1: Roast the Beans

First, roast the beans. Spread the beans over a cookie sheet and place in the oven at 350 degrees F. Bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, check the beans. They should look dry and browned. Remove from the oven and let cool completely.

STEP 2: Grind the Beans

Next, grind the roasted beans. Place the beans in a food processor and pulse until the beans become a fine powder. The final product should be about half as thick as flour.

STEP 3: Sift the Cacao Powder

Sifting the cocoa powder is optional but recommended. Sifting helps remove any large lumps that might cause problems during the next step. It allows air to circulate through the black cocoa powder not to clump together.

STEP 4: Dry the Cacoa Powder

Dry the cocoa powder by placing it into an airtight container or bag and closing it. Do not put too much pressure on the bag because you don’t want the form of cocoa powder to absorb moisture from the air.

It will make the white chocolate taste bitter. Instead, store your organic cocoa powder is an excellent, dark location. If the pre-packaged cocoa powder absorbs moisture, open the bag and stir the powder.

Is there dairy in cocoa powder?

The cocoa bean itself is not a dairy product. The processing of cocoa powder is made from the beans of the cacao tree plant sources.

The beans are dried, then roasted, and ground into a fine variety of cocoa powder. This process removes the milk and sugar from the bean.

The remaining ingredient is cocoa butter, a liquid fat that gives chocolate flavoring.

But, if you are allergic to milk, you should be careful when using vegan chocolate. Favorite chocolate is made by soaking and roasting the beans until they are dry and hard.

It’s then ground into a paste mixed with cocoa butter and sugar to make the final product. Cocoa powder is the ground-up cocoa beans that have been dried and pulverized.

Find out if Mott’s gummies are vegan or not.

What brands of cocoa powder are vegan?

There are many different productions of cocoa powder. Some are made from beans, others from the nibs. The best option is to look for a brand with no milk or dairy.

If the label says “made with plant-based milk” or “vegan,” the product is most likely vegan. 

There are many types of cocoa beans. The final product can be either unsweetened or sweetened, depending on the method.

When a food company uses cocoa butter, the resulting product is not vegan.

The best vegan brands are:

  • Bob’s Red Mill
  • Earth Balance
  • And Arrowhead Mills

What Are The Different Types Of Cocoa Powder?

There are many types of cocoa powder that are used in baking. Some of them are:

1. Regular cocoa powder is used in baking because it contains only cocoa solids and not any fat. It’s also great for those with allergies to dairy products.

2. Dutch-processed cocoa powder. It has a high level of cocoa butter than regular cocoa powder. And it is used in baking to create a more decadent chocolate flavor.

3. Natural cocoa powder. It has a higher level of cocoa butter than regular cocoa powder. And it is used in baking to create a more decadent chocolate flavor.

4. Cocoa butter is found in cocoa powder and is often used in baking to create a smoother and richer texture.

5. Alkalized cocoa powder. It is a very dark, rich-tasting product produced by baking the cocoa nibs to remove any acidity.

You can see that there are many different types of cocoa powder. If you want to add nutrients to your favorite recipes and keep them as vegan as possible, you can use cocoa powder.

Because of the health benefits and the taste, it is a good choice for vegans and non-vegans alike.

Why Do Some Vegans Avoid Cocoa Products?

Many vegans avoid cocoa products for a variety of reasons.

Ingredients in cocoa powder contain amounts of theobromine, a stimulant found in chocolate. It can cause palpitations, increased heart rate, anxiety, and insomnia.

Many vegans avoid cocoa powder products because they contain animal-based milk. A vegan diet does not include animal products, including milk, eggs, meat, fish, honey, or gelatin.

Cocoa has a lot of added sugar, and its dairy makes it even sweeter. It is why many vegans opt for dark chocolate instead.

Other factors include cocoa often grown in rainforests, which can lead to deforestation.

Cocoa Powder Vegan Recipe


  • 2 cups unsweetened soy milk
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch salt


Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth. Pour into a glass bowl and place in the refrigerator for 3-4 hours. Serve cold.

Final Thoughts

It is essential to ensure that the cocoa powder you are using is vegan. The cocoa powder can be vegan in the US but not in Europe, depending on your diet.
You need to watch out for other ingredients are whey, casein, and lactose. Look for vegan products that have been certified by vegan organizations.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *