Skip to content

What Are Tic Tacs Made Of? Let’s Find Out!

  •  

Are Tic Tacs Vegan?

Tic Tacs are the perfect snack for kids or adults who want something sweet but don’t want to eat sugar. Additionally, they’re an excellent option for those who want to cut out artificial ingredients from their diet.

But did you know that they contain gelatin? Gelatin is an animal-derived ingredient from animal bones and connective tissue. This means that they aren’t vegan.

There are plenty of other vegan snacks, such as granola bars, trail mix, and even fruit roll-ups. If you’re looking for a healthier option, check out these tasty alternatives.

What is Tic Tacs?

Tic Tacs are small candies made by Wrigley’s. The candy contains no milk, eggs, or honey. It does, however, contains gelatin, a non-vegan ingredient.

The ingredients in Tic Tacs include:

  • Base flavour,
  • sugar,
  • corn syrup,
  • natural and artificial flavours,
  • cellulose gum (which comes from wood pulp),
  • modified food starch,
  • dextrin,
  • colouring agent,
  • silicon dioxide,
  • titanium dioxide,
  • red 40 lake,
  • yellow 5 lake,
  • blue 1 lake,
  • orange 3 lake,
  • caramel,
  • salt,
  • ascorbic acid,
  • baking soda,
  • guar gum,
  • sodium benzoate,
  • potassium sorbate,
  • xanthan gum,
  • carminic acid,
  • tartaric acid,
  • calcium disodium EDTA,
  • and vitamin E acetate.

The best part about Tic Tacs is that they’re effortless to find at most grocery stores. So grab some and get started munching!

Tic Tacs different flavours, Vegan or Not Vegan?

You can buy Tic Tacs in a variety of flavours. However, there are only two types of Tic Tacs that are certified vegan; mint and cinnamon. All others have gelatin in them.

Peppermint Tic Tacs: These are the original flavour of Tic Tacs. There are several variations on this flavour, but they are still vegan.

Cinnamon Tic Tacs: Cinnamon flavoured Tic Tacs are available in regular and mini versions. Both of these are vegan.

Other Flavors: Other flavours of Tic Tac include orange tic tacs, cherry cola, berry cherry, strawberry, grape, lemonade, watermelon, and cherry passion. These are non-vegan Tic Tacs flavours.

If you do choose to buy Tic Tacs, be sure to read the product ingredient label carefully. You may come across some brands that claim to be vegan but aren’t.

Is Tic Tacs Healthy?

Yes, Tic Tacs are healthy. They’re low in calories, fat, and cholesterol. Plus, they’re packed with vitamins like Vitamin C, B6, Iron, Niacin, Thiamine, Riboflavin, Folate, Zinc, Copper, Manganese, Selenium, Potassium, Magnesium, and Phosphorus.

They’re also a good source of fibre and protein.

Which Ingredients Stop Mints Being Vegan?

All Tic Tacs are vegan except for one ingredient. That ingredient is gelatin. Gelatin is derived from animal collagen. Collagen is bone, cartilage, tendons, ligaments, skin, and organs.

Gelatin is used in foods like Jell-O, marshmallows, ice cream, and yoghurts.

So if you love Tic Tacs, make sure you look for ones that say “Vegan” or “Certified Vegan”. Otherwise, you’ll need to stay away from them.

Tic Tacs are a delicious treat that everyone should try once. But if you’re concerned about being vegan, don’t worry. Most of the ingredients in Tic Tacks are either plant-based or easily replaced.

That said, if you want to avoid any potential allergens, you might want to steer clear of the mint and cinnamon flavours.

But if you’re looking for something sweet and fun, then go ahead and give Tic Tacs a try.

Is Tic Tacs Dairy-Free?

Yes, Tic Tacs are dairy-free, as they contain xylitol, a natural sugar substitute.

Xylitol is a sugar alcohol that has been used for decades in chewing gum and candy, but it is not a commonly used ingredient in the food. It is, however, approved by the FDA as a safe, effective, and non-nutritive sweetener for use in foods and beverages.

It’s also safe to assume that Tic Tacs are gluten-free since they’re made with corn syrup and corn starch.

However, many different ingredients are used in the manufacturing process, and it’s challenging to identify which ones are gluten-free.

To be sure, if you have celiac disease, you should be very cautious when eating these candies.

Is Tic Tacs Coated with Carnauba Wax?

Tic Tacs are coated with plant-based carnauba wax.

Carnauba wax is a shiny coating derived from the seed coat of the carnauba palm, native to Brazil. It is a soft wax used as a finishing agent on a variety of products.

It is a natural, food-safe wax that can be applied to surfaces to protect against dirt, moisture, grease, and stains.

It is used on leather and other fabrics, wood, metal, glass, paper, and many other surfaces.

The coating on candies helps keep the candies fresh and moist. It also helps prevent them from sticking together.

Vegan Candy Alternatives:

If you’re looking for some tasty alternatives to Tic Tacs, here’s what you should know.

Mint Chocolate Almond Candy: These are similar to Tic Tacs in texture and flavour. They’re made with chocolate chips, coconut flakes, almonds, and peppermint oil.

Peppermint Pattie: This is another vegan alternative to Tic Tacs. It contains natural peppermint extract and a colouring agent.

Minty M&Ms: These are made with organic cane sugar, cocoa butter, and vanilla bean paste. They’re available in both dark and light varieties.

Krave Jerky: Krave Jerky is a line of all-natural jerky snacks. Their products are made without soy, wheat, nuts, or animal products.

They do, however, contain honey, molasses, and salt.

Krave Jerky is made using only 100% USDA inspected beef and pork. The company uses no preservatives, additives, or fillers.

These jerky treats are great for snacking while camping, hiking, or just hanging out at home.

Last Words

Tic Tacs may seem like an odd choice for a vegan diet, but they’re pretty easy to make.

Most of their ingredients are vegan friendly, and most people won’t even notice that you’ve swapped out milk for almond milk.

Plus, they’re delicious!

So, next time you’re craving a refreshing treat, grab a pack of Tic Tacs instead of reaching for a bag of potato chips.

You’ll find that they’re much healthier than the latter option.

Did we miss any of your favourite vegan snack options? Let us know in the comments below.

nv-author-image

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started VeganTab.com to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.