Skip to content

Are Pom Bears Vegan? Find Out Here!

  • Mike 
are pom bears vegan

Are Pom Bears Vegan?

Pom Bears are potato chips that are fashioned like teddy bears and are created by a firm named Intersnack. These chips are crispy and tasty. They were first used in public in 1987 in Germany, and since then, their use has expanded to more than 30 nations in Europe. Are Pom Bears vegetarian or vegan?

Due to the absence of any ingredients produced from animals, Pom Bear Original may be safely labeled as vegan. Pom Bear’s Salt & Vinegar and Cheese & Onion varieties aren’t suitable for vegans since they include honey and milk.

What are Pom Bears?

Pom Bears are tasty potato crisps shaped like teddy bears and come in various flavors, including ready salted, salt and vinegar, cheese and onion. For those unfamiliar with them or who need a gentle reminder, Pom Bears are available in ready salted, salt and vinegar, and cheese and onion varieties.

Find out if Marmalade is vegan or not!

Pom Bears Ingredients

The following are the components I identified through the various Pom Bear flavours.

  • Dextrose
  • Citric Acid
  • Dried Cheese (Milk)
  • Dried Potato
  • Dried Garlic
  • Dried Yeast
  • Honey Extract
  • Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
  • Maltodextrin
  • Maize Dextrin
  • Maize Starch
  • Potato Starch
  • Natural Flavourings
  • Paprika Powder
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Yeast Extract
  • Sunflower Oil

Non-vegan ingredients

1. Milk

The type of cheese produced by Pom Bear Cheese & Onion is dried cheese. Because cows are used to produce milk, vegans should avoid it.

2. Honey extract

Because bees are not exploited for their honey by vegans, honey is a non-vegan component of Pom Bear Salt & Vinegar. Because honey is no longer valued, the bees are taken advantage of due to this change.

Ingredients that raise questions

1. Sugar

The vegan community is passionate about the issue of sugar for several reasons. While sugar does not include animal products, several uses make it non-vegan-friendly.

Cane sugar is the most prevalent sugar used in the snack food and candy manufacturing industries. It is refined to make it more compatible with these products, which also bleaches the sugar. And this is where the problem comes in. Most people utilize bone char, which is created when cows are cremated.

Numerous vegans are upset about this and have avoided many desserts since they don’t know where the sugar in them came from. The origin of the sugar in Pom Bears is not made clear, but even the Original flavor may contain refined cane sugar, rendering it unsuitable for vegans. Beet sugar, the second most popular type of sugar, is safe for vegans to consume.

2. Natural flavorings

The second component that makes people raise an eyebrow is natural flavors since food companies are not obligated to disclose what they put in them. Because of this, natural flavorings might include chemicals unsuitable for vegans.

Because Pom Bears are vegetarian, the natural flavors probably come from plant-based sources too. However, vegans must be careful since natural flavors can conceal ingredients that aren’t appropriate for their diet.

Did you know that some brands of vanilla extract use beaver butt gunk? According to a National Geographic article, this is quite common. It makes you wonder what other hidden substances might be present in these extracts.

3. Mono-and diglycerides of fatty acids

The use of mono- and diglycerides is highly debated as they can be sourced from plants and animals.

Moreover, we have also written an article about the best vegan soft serve. It will help if you read it.

Conclusion

Pom Bear Original is vegan-friendly and cruelty-free, which sets a precedent that, hopefully, other businesses will follow. As veganism becomes a popular snack brand, companies must provide plant-based options.

Moreover, it would help if you also read our article about Jaffa Cakes, whether they are vegan or not.

Frequently asked questions – FAQ

Are Pom Bears Vegetarian?

The Pom Bear Cheese & Onion variety is only suitable for Lacto-ovo and Lacto vegetarians since it contains some milk. All vegans can eat the original rock salt and & vinegar varieties, but the cheese & onion flavor is only appropriate for those who follow a vegetarian diet.

Do Pom Bears contain any gluten?

Pom Bears are a type of potato iconic crisps that are light, salty, and crispy. Shaped like a bear, these sturdy potato crisps are incredibly delectable and melt in your mouth. They are made without gluten, vegetarian, or fried in vegetable oil!

Is there any vegan Pom Bear snack?

Pom Bear Salt & Vinegar and Pom Bear Cheese & Onion include honey extract and milk, making them unsuitable for vegans. On the other hand, the original Pom Bear includes no animal products, making it suitable for vegans.

What is a vegan diet?

Veganism is a lifestyle choice in which all forms of animal and animal products are eliminated from the diet for health, ethical, or environmental reasons.

People with type 2 diabetes, heart disease, cancer, arthritis, and other conditions may benefit from adopting a vegan diet. Holding strong cultural beliefs or wanting to get healthier are common examples of caring about the world around them ethically and environmentally.

Do Pom Bears include any dairy?

The good news is, of course, yes! Pom Bears in the Ready Salted flavor do not contain any dairy products; nonetheless, you must resist the urge to try other flavors! It is important to note that these cookies include soya, even though they do not contain gluten, for those of you who have additional dietary limitations to consider.

Are Pom Bears KP?

From time-honored classics like Space Raiders, Wheat Crunchies, Nik Naks and Skips to contemporary favorites like POM-BEAR and Hula Hoops, they are a hit with the whole family. We are also known for producing Britain’s most flavorful ridged gourmet crisp, McCoy’s and Tyrrell’s hand-cooked cylindrical crisps, Butterkist popcorn, and of course, KP Nuts, the absolute best nuts that money can buy!

Where are Pom Bears?

Pom-Bear is a potato chip brand that comes in the form of a teddy bear. Intersnack is the company that makes them, distributed throughout more than 30 countries. They were originally sold in 1987 in Germany, known as Pom-Bars, and not long after that, in 1990, they were made available in the United Kingdom.

Can a 2-year-old eat crisps?

Like many other processed meals, Beetroots crisps and crackers typically contain a significant amount of salt. Your infant has a very low requirement for salt: less than 1 gram (0.4 g sodium) a day up to their first birthday and less than 2 g (0.8 g sodium) between the ages of one and three years. Their underdeveloped kidneys cannot process much more salt than this.

Do Pomp Bears have nuts?

Pom-Bear has developed these scrumptious potato snacks that are extra light, crunchy, and dissolve in your mouth. Sunflower oil is used in the preparation of these Pom-Bear treats. The first and the best – Pom-personal Bear’s favorite! Produced at a facility that does not use nuts, making them safe for consumption by those who suffer from nut allergies and intolerances.

Can you get salt and vinegar Pom Bears?

Pom-Bear has developed these delicious, light potato nibbles that are crunchy and easily dissolve in your mouth. The salt and vinegar flavor gives these bear-shaped treats a lot of flavors and a lot of fun to eat because of the form.

Which crisps are best for toddlers?

Because they are not very salty and do not have an overly crunchy texture, Snap Pea Crisps and Fruit are an excellent choice for feeding toddlers. They are also a good source of protein and fiber, making them an excellent option for a snack. Complement with a straightforward fruit, such as a banana, apple, or a jar of applesauce.

Are Pom Bears baked?

Pom-Bear Bakes are not fried but rather baked, resulting in 40% less total fat and 56% less saturated fat than the bestselling cheese snack biscuit.

Is cheese gluten?

Most gluten-free cheeses are unflavored, full-fat, plain cheeses that include neither flavorings nor additives. Gluten may be present in processed cheese and cheeses advertised as having low salt, low fat, or no fat. Gluten may be present in cheese if it contains any form of the add-in, including wheat starch, modified food starch, or any other type of starch.

Do potatoes have gluten?

Because raw potatoes do not contain gluten, so they are an excellent food choice for those with celiac disease and anyone with certain dietary requirements. It would help if you were cautious of how they are made since any other ingredients used can contain gluten, providing a “back door” for them to consume.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started VeganTab.com to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *