Skip to content

Why Is Pectin Vegan? Let’s Find Out!

  • Mike 

Is Pectin Vegan?

Yes, pectin is vegan! Pectin is derived from fruits and is a natural gelling used to thicken fruit-based.

Pectin is a vegan alternative to gelatin. Because it is derived from a mixture of fruits, pectin is considered vegan. Meaning it does not contain animal products.

What Is Pectin Used For?

Pectin is found in ripe fruits and vegetables. While pectin has been used for years in food preparation, it was also discovered to have health benefits. The best way to consume levels of pectin is through a health supplement.

The FDA has determined that pectin is recognized as safe for use in food. But, some vegans avoid using pectin due to concerns about animal testing.

Some vegans also avoid honey due to the bees’ involvement in extracting the sweet liquid from flowers. 

Because pectin is a plant-based product, vegan pectin can be used in recipes and is an excellent substitute for animal-derived pectin.

Some recipes made with vegan pectin are jams, jellies and fruit sauces. You can also use vegan pectin to make vegan pectin cheese.

Which Fruits and Vegetables Contain the Most Pectin?

Pectin content is a type of fibre found in fresh fruit and vegetables. It helps food thicken, giving it a smooth texture.

When it comes to high pectin fruits and vegetables, pectin is found in citrus fruits. 

Such as:

  • Oranges
  • Grapefruit
  • Apples
  • Peaches
  • Bananas
  • Berries
  • Plums
  • Lemons
  • Figs
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Carrots

Is Pectin Safe?

Yes, Sources of Pectin is safe for consumption. Pectin is safe for use in food manufacturing if proper precautions are taken during processing.

But, types of Pectin should never be used as a dietary pectin supplement. And if you are taking medications, please consult your doctor first.

A combination of Pectin is a natural thickener, which means it will thicken up a liquid. It does this by forming small strands held by a glue-like substance called a polysaccharide.

The key to making a good jam is to add a small amount of Pectin. If you add too much, you can end up with a jam that doesn’t sit well.

It’s essential to use the right amount of Pectin, and you should always use the Pectin from a reputable brand.

Does Pectin Have potential Health Benefits?

  • Pectin has health benefits, especially for those who suffer from constipation. 
  • The fibre found in Pectin helps soften stools and prevent them from becoming too dry. It makes it easier to pass stool, which improves bowel function.
  • It helps the body absorb calcium and helps to prevent constipation.
  • It is also a natural source of fibre found in many foods.
  • It also reduces the risk of heart disease and cancer.
  • It also may help regulate blood sugar levels and reduce the risk of diabetes.

But, it should be noted that Pectin is also found in apples, oranges, and other base fruit, so it is important to check labels when buying food items.

How to Make Homemade Pectin?

Making homemade pectin is easy and inexpensive. All you need is apple cider vinegar and amounts of sugar.


1. The easiest way to do this is to put 1 cup of water into a saucepan and add 2 cups of white sugar.

2. Bring the mixture to a boil for 10 minutes, turn off the heat and let cool.

3. Add 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar and stir well.

4. Let sit overnight at room temperature.

5. Strain out the solids, and store them in an airtight container.

What Are The Best Vegan Alternatives To Pectin?

There are several alternatives to pectin, such as;

1. Agar is a plant-based diet product and is derived from seaweed.

2. Xanthan gum is a natural product that comes from the fermentation of carbohydrates.

3. Carrageenan is a natural product that comes from red algae. It is derived from a polysaccharide called carrageenan.

4. Locust bean gum is produced from the seeds of the carob tree. 

You can substitute the above list for pectin, but the texture of the pastry product will be different. You can also use gelatin, which is derived from collagen. It’s also a vegan alternative to pectin.

There are other alternatives to pectin, but they are not used because they cannot set jelly candies and marmalade.

Last Words

Pectin is a soluble fibre obtained from the cell walls of plants. It can be used as a food preservative and gelling or thickening agent in food.

It is processed, is derived from sources like apples, and is considered vegan by most. Make sure to check the ingredients on any prepackaged.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *