Skip to content

Why Are Millions Sweets Vegan? Find Out Here!

  • Mike 

Can I Have Millions On A Vegan Diet?

Millions are a popular tiny sweet in the UK, known for their small chewy sweets, the iconic sweet can be found in jars or tubes, but are the ingredients in these yummy sweets vegan friendly? 

Millions are in fact vegan-friendly sweets, the ingredients for millions consist mainly of fruit flavors from concentrated fruits and glucose/sugar.

Down below, we’ve discussed in more detail what the specific ingredients are in Millions if they are certified vegan, gluten-free and some other popular vegan-friendly chewy sweets for your sweet tooth.

What Are The Ingredients In Millions? 

Let’s start by discussing what the specific ingredients are in millions so we can make sure there are no animal ingredients inside these sweets. 

Millions have similar ingredients in all their fruity flavours but they can differ slightly according to the type you choose. 

We’ve listed the ingredients in blackcurrant millions as an example below. 

  • Blackcurrant juice – Concentrated from blackberries. 
  • Citric acid – Used to preserve and give the tangy taste to sweets. 
  • Hydrogenated coconut oil. 
  • Starch. 
  • Concentrated and flavourings – All from fruit extracts. 
  • Colouring – Brilliant blue FCF. 
  • Thickeners. 
  • Emulsifier. 

The below flavours of millions are considered vegan – 

  • Strawberry.
  • Cola flavours.
  • Apple. 
  • Raspberry. 
  • Bubblegum.
  • Vimto.

Are Millions Certified Vegan? 

Millions sweets are certified to be vegetarian, not vegan, this is because it can be difficult for sweets to prove there is no cross contamination from animal ingredients such as milk. 

The chances are slim and the contamination rate could be as little as 1% which is why we still consider these sweets vegan, unless you have a milk allergy then you would need to ensure they are cross-contamination tested. 

Are Millions Gluten Free? 

As well as being vegan friendly, Millions are also gluten-free making them a great choice for people who suffer from food intolerance/allergies.

Top 9 Vegan Sweets In The UK 

If you are not keen on Millions or curious about other popular sweets in the UK being vegan, we’ve listed our top other nine vegan sweets that you can buy in the UK below. 


Starbursts are a very popular sweet in the UK and the soft chewy fruit flavors are vegan too! We would watch out for palm oil however which is preferred to be avoided by most vegans due to it being among the harmful ingredients.

Jelly Tots 

Since 1965, Jelly tots are considered vegan friendly across all of their five flavors, there could be a risk of contamination however since they are made in a factory where gelatin is produced.


Apart from containing palm oil, Skittles are considered vegan friendly, they stopped using gelatin in their sweets a while back and are also gluten-free!

Candy Kittens

With no artificial colouring and all-natural flavors, Candy kittens are great vegan gourmet-style sweets coming in a few different flavors such as peach fizz and Eton mess.

Fruit Pastilles 

Fruit pastilles are now vegan in some varieties, just make sure you are buying the vegan version which is often found mostly in sharing bags.

Swizzels & Love Hearts 

Love hearts are a traditional sweet in most of our childhoods and are vegan! Swizzle’s choos are also vegan but their drumsticks are not so don’t be confused!

Haribo Rainbow Stripes

Rainbow strips from Haribo are made with real fruit juice and are vegan friendly, Haribo starmix and a few of their other sweets are not vegan.

Fox Glacier Fruits

Fox glacier fruits are a great hard-boiled sweets type which is vegan if you are not keen on the chewy style vegan sweets.

Final Words

Overall, Millions are classed as a vegan sweets in all their flavours, it is worth noting that they are not certified vegan however so there could be a risk of cross-contamination.

Always check the product labels just in case, especially for special edition flavours.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *