Skip to content

Is Marmalade Vegan? Find Out Here!

  • Mike 

Is Marmalade Vegan?

Marmalade is vegan if you choose a vegan brand. It is because marmalade is a spread. Any preserve or jam is considered vegan.

The most likely non-vegan core ingredient is sugar or honey. But, many sugar manufacturers use bone char as the decolorizing in the production process. So again, look for a vegan brand.

It is vegan because it has no animal products in it. Some marmalade is a paste made from cooked citrus fruits, sugar, and fruit pectin.

It is a thick, sweet spread with a hint of tartness. All the production methods are also vegan, which means that marmalade is always vegan.

What Is Marmalade?

Marmalade is a sweet spread made from citrus fruits and sugar. The combination of citrus fruits and sugar makes marmalade very popular.

Marmalade is a trendy type of jam that has been made for many years. It was invented in the 19th century and was made from citrus fruits. 

The name marmalade is a portmanteau of the words “marmalade” and “apricot jam”. Marmalade is a sweet preserve made from citrus fruits such as oranges and grapefruit.

The fruit is mixed with sugar and cooked until it becomes thick. These can be used for baking or as a topping for bread.

Does Marmalade Contain Gelatin?

Yes, marmalade is made with pectin, which is derived from gelatin. Pectin is the substance that gives jams and jellies their thick consistency.

Another Pectin is a natural substance found in some fruits and vegetables. It is used in food processing because it is a soluble fibre that makes jams and preserves firm and clear.

But, you can make marmalade with or without gelatin. The most common alternative to gelatin is agar-agar, derived from seaweed.

It can be found in most grocery stores and can be used as a thickening agent in place of gelatin.

Moreover, you should also read our previous article about gushers, whether they are vegan or not.

Vegan Recipe For Orange Marmalade

Yes, we have an easy vegan recipe for Orange Marmalade. There are many variations of marmalade, but we’ve found a few that don’t contain any animal products.

The orange peel is the crucial ingredient because it contains levels of pectin, which is what causes the jelly candies like a texture.

You will need:

  • 2 cups of oranges
  • 1/4 cup of coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water


1. Combine all season ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the marmalade starts to thicken.

2. Cool completely and refrigerate.

This vegan recipe for orange marmalade is the perfect combination of sweet and savoury. It’s the ideal dish to serve with a slice of bread and a cup of tea.

Find out if carnauba wax is vegan or not!

What Ingredients Should Vegans Be Aware Of?

It’s no secret that many food products are made with meat and dairy. We can all determine how many of these ingredients are used in a product by looking at the label.

But, in some cases, we don’t always know what is in the food we eat. If we want to avoid any hidden ingredients, we must read labels.

Here are some tips on what to look for on labels:

1. Look for the “made without” statement. It means that the food is not made with any animal products.

2. Check the ingredients list. If the food contains more than three ingredients, check each one to ensure it is “vegetarian-friendly.”

3. Check the serving size. Some foods are labelled “one serving.”

4. Avoid foods with long ingredient lists. It may include things like salt, sugar, and sweeteners.

5. Avoid food with ingredients that sound like they are from animals, such as “beef,” “chicken,” and “fish.”

6. Check the nutrition information label. It will tell you how many grams of protein and fat is in a food serving.

7. Look for a statement that says “natural.” It means that the food does not contain artificial additives

Last Words

Veganism is a lifestyle that limits or removes animal products from a person’s lifestyle. You’ll find several vegan products that are any day better than the “regular” ones you are used to.

Moreover, you should also read our article about Paul Rudd, whether he is vegan or not.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *