Skip to content

Can Vegans Eat Liquorice? Find Out Here!

  • Mike 

Is Liquorice Vegan?

No, liquorice is not vegan. It contains gelatin which is derived from animal bones and cartilage.

Liquorice is from the actual licorice root of the plant. The seeds are boiled to remove the fibres and then ground to a powder.

Substances in licorice may contain glycyrrhizin, which is from the liquorice plant.

You can use it to sweeten foods and has a link to harmful effects such as high blood pressure and heart problems.

But, most liquorice nowadays is made with Glycerol which comes from animal fat (Tallow). So, if you want to be 100% true to your vegan diet, it is best to avoid liquorice.

What Is Liquorice?

Liquorice is an edible plant. Its roots contain a sticky, sweet-tasting substance called glycyrrhizin.

It is now grown in many countries around the world. Liquorice can use as a flavouring in foods, beverages and sweets.

It has a unique flavour that some people enjoy. I recommend liquorice to anyone looking for a different, non-conventional taste.

While it’s not my favourite thing to eat, it is still tasty and has many health benefits. 

Two Types Of Liquorice

1. Black licorice

Black liquorice has a spicy taste and from actual licorice roots. It is from the root of liquorice and contains a high level of glycyrrhizin.

It is an active ingredient that can cause problems with your kidneys and liver.

2. White liquorice

White liquorice comes from the dried fruit of the liquorice plant. It is from the root types of licorice but does not contain glycyrrhizin. It is generally safer to consume than black liquorice.

Does Liquorice Contain Gelatin?

Yes, it does. It is made from the root of the liquorice plant, which contains glycyrrhizin.

Glycyrrhizin is a sweetener that occurs in the licorice root extract of plants. It has a similar effect to gelatin in that it helps bind food together.

The difference is that it’s not from animal-derived products. Gelatin is a protein that is used in some desserts and foods. It is found in the skin of pigs and cows.

Gelatin is used to thicken and preserve the consistency of food and drinks. It is also can use to make jellies and gelatin desserts.

But, it is only used for flavouring purposes and is not harmful to health.

Is Red Vine Liquorice Vegan?

Red Vine Liquorice is not vegan because it contains E120, Carmine. Carmine is a natural dye extracted from the female Dactylopius Coccus Costa insect.

Red Vines are made with only an essential ingredient: sugar. The actual sugar is processed and packaged with machines and other tools.

Red Vines are processed on the same equipment as animal-based ingredients. But, the sugar helps to make Red Vines is refined using bone charcoal, a refined animal product.=

Besides, Red Vine Liquorice is not labelled as vegan,

Find out the top 10 vegan face wash in 2022!

Vegan Alternatives For Liquorice

A vegan alternative to liquorice would be a similar flavour. But without any of the vegan ingredients that are from vegetarian products.

A good example would be agave syrup. It tastes like liquorice and has a sweet, fruity flavour. It makes a good substitute for liquorice in many recipes.

It is from the sap of the agave plant, which grows in Mexico. Agave nectar contains calories of non-organic cane sugar, making it a healthier sweetener.

There are several alternatives for liquorice.

  • Lemon drops – Lemon drops are a natural sweetener with a mild lemony taste and a sweet aftertaste.
  • Dried fruit – Dried fruits can be used in desserts as an alternative to liquorice.
  • Chocolate – Dark chocolate is a good alternative for original licorice.
  • Coconut oil– Coconut oil can use to make licorice vegan.
  • Coconut milk– It can help to substitute for liquorice.
  • Cocoa powder – Cocoa powder is also an alternative for liquorice.
  • Fruit juice – Fruit juices can use as alternatives for liquorice.
  • Maple syrup– Maple syrup is also a natural sweetener and can use as an alternative for liquorice.
  • Sugar – Vegan sugar is a natural sweetener that can use as a substitute for liquorice.

Find out whether AirHeads are vegan or not!

Last Words

There are many different types of veganism. And it is this diversity that makes veganism so interesting. If you’re interested in becoming a vegan, make sure you don’t have allergies to vegan foods.

Once you’ve gotten over that, you can start trying out different vegan foods and find the ones you like the most.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *