Skip to content

Are Gushers Vegan? Find Out Here!

  • Mike 
are gushers vegan

Are Gushers Vegan?

There was always that one thing, like a box of Gushers, that made you the cool kid at school for the day. There was always that one thing missing from the gushers. I’m ashamed to say it, but my mother was so generous that I often packed extra packets to pass them away.

However, it never occurred to me that they consumed no animal products. I am positive that I recall reading somewhere that they included gelatin or some other substance. But no!

Fruit Gushers are vegan. They do not include any components that are produced from animals in any way. Fruit Gushers have a few substances that raise ethical concerns, such as palm oil and artificial colors, among other things. Even though palm oil is RSPO-certified and hence OK for vegans, ethical vegans should not consume Fruit Gusher since it contains artificial colors.

Carrageenan was used instead of gelatin, which came as a complete surprise to me, given the nature of the product, which seemed more like it should have contained gelatin. Although some people have issues with carrageenan, I have no problem with it. If it is included in a product, it almost often indicates that it is used as a vegan substitute for gelatin that does not come from the bones of animals. Because carrageenan is vegan and the company decided to utilize it instead of other ingredients, Fruit Gushers are suitable for vegans.

Find out whether Motts gummies are vegan or not!

What are gushers made of?

Corn syrup, palm oil, sugar, fructose, maltodextrin, modified corn starch, glycerin, pear puree concentrate and less than 2% cottonseed oil are all components that makeup Fruit Gushers. Ingredients include Carrageenan, Monoglycerides, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Natural Flavor, Sodium Citrate, Potassium Citrate, and Ascorbic Acid. Ingredients include Xanthan Gum, Agar-Agar, Red 40, Blue 1, and Yellows 5 and 6.

Although there is some indication that some food colorings have been tested on animals in the past, no recent studies have reported on these experiments.

Find out whether Crayola makes vegan markers or not!

Debatable ingredients of gushers

1. Sugar

The sugar utilized in the production of Fruits Gushers is beet sugar, which is completely acceptable for consumption by vegans. Although this caution is clearly mentioned, it does not provide any information about the kind of sugar utilized in nations other than the United States. As contracts to create Gushers in various locations around the UK are auctioned.

The confectionery sector is facing a significant challenge in the use of sugar. Cane sugar that has been refined is the type of sugar that is most commonly utilized. Cane sugar in its raw form is OK for consumption by vegans; however, processed cane sugar presents a problem for many.

The raw cane sugar is bleached during refining to make the candy fit better. Additionally, bone char made from previously slaughtered cows is typically used. The vegan community is now discussing this problem at length, which is one reason why many vegans avoid refined cane sugar.

2. Maize starch

Compared to the United States, the European Union (EU) has a number of regulations that are significantly more stringent regarding the disclosure of components. In the United States, modified corn starch does not have a sinister ring.

Indeed, using genetically modified ingredients in foods is not always ideal. However, making popular fruit snacks out of genetically engineered starches is an unfortunate side effect. 

Genetically modified organisms are not biological and have had their DNA altered. The debate over organic vs. genetically modified organisms is entirely one of morality.

The enormous amount of herbicide required for producing GMO crops is yet another problematic component of these crops. It can potentially disrupt the local ecology, which will have a devastating effect on the natural world.

3. Palm oil

Another contentious component of vegan products is palm oil, a frequently debated subject within the vegan movement. The primary cause for this is the significant deforestation that is now taking place, which has deprived creatures like orangutans and rhinos of their natural habitat.

The cruelty shown toward animals has infuriated members of the vegan movement, and as a result, many vegans try to steer clear of products that use palm oil altogether.

Now, with that out of the way, there is a non-profit organization called the Roundtable for Sustainable Palm oil, also known as RSPO. This organization assists firms in the production of sustainable palm oil and assists consumers in the purchase of sustainable palm oil.

4. Natural flavors

Besides the main ingredient, gushers contain natural flavorings that enhance the fruited flavor or make them taste similar to the fruit flavor. They include watermelon and strawberry, which aren’t part of the mixture of the main ingredient.

This indicates that natural tastes are responsible for creating the illusion. This indicates that castoreum, derived from a beaver’s olfactory gland, can be utilized.

According to the standards set by the government of the United States, these are suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Find out whether Lay’s are vegan or not!

Does everyone throughout the world consume vegan gushers?

General Mills produces Fruit Gushers, but when sold in other countries, they are occasionally branded as being produced by Betty Crocker. However, Betty Crocker is only one of the trademarks produced by General Mills, so you shouldn’t be concerned if the labels are different.

No matter where you are in the world—in Canada, the United Kingdom, or anywhere else—Gushers will always be vegan and contain the same ingredients. This holds regardless of the flavor. When I’ve looked into it when I’ve been traveling or online, I’ve found that to be the case. At the very least, I’ve found that to be the case.

Find out if Twinkies are vegan or not!

Where can you buy vegan gushers?

They may be purchased at most supermarkets and other food retail establishments in the United States, including dollar stores like Family Dollar. It is not usually the case, but you can find them in stores like CVS and Walgreens. You may also get them through Amazon, where they are, at least in comparison to the locations where I’ve seen them in person, available for a lower price online than in person. You can view the price by clicking here. Even if it seems unusual, they are sold by Gushers themselves, which means they are unquestionably the same as what is offered in stores.

You can almost always find them at Walmart if you want to purchase them in person. If you want to buy them online, you can do so through Amazon. If you want to buy them overseas, you can do so through Amazon. It’s a coin flip as to whether or not you can obtain them in other countries. However, you can get them in Canada at the vast majority of large grocery stores, just as you would in the United States. This is similar to the situation in the United Kingdom. It may be difficult to find them in other countries, such as the United Kingdom, particularly because there are a significantly lower number of Walmarts in the United Kingdom than in other countries.

Find out whether Biscof is vegan or not!


Compared to other sweets of its kind, Gushers are vegan-friendly in a significant way. You might as well eat Gushers if you have to consume sweets despite being aware that candies include many manufactured substances.

They include a relatively small amount of substances that are not vegan. To begin, Gushers do not include gelatin in any form. The remaining problematic elements are all very contentious for various reasons.

There is no way for you to tell whether or not the glycerine utilized in Gushers comes from an animal or vegetable source. In the same vein, you are unaware of this truth regarding using artificial sugar, monoglycerides, and modified corn starch. All questions are nothing more than wild guesswork.

Even though many vegans are under the impression that Gushers unquestionably make use of castoreum as a natural flavoring, This might be real or false. You can never tell.

Suppose you are concerned about the serious effects that the proliferation of palm oil plantations would have on the environment. In that case, you could decide to avoid Gushers and a wide variety of other food products. This explanation is quite reasonable. Many people steer clear of artificial colors because of the unethical problems they cause in animal experimentation and their negative consequences on human health. People also prefer to avoid using makeup items with artificial hues, similar to how they feel about candy.

Gushers are not completely free of animal products. You must be aware that many meals produced in factories may never be.

Find out whether Wotsits are vegan or not!

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *