Skip to content

Can Pringles Be Vegan? Let’s Find Out!

  • Mike 

Are Pringles Vegan?

Pringles are not vegan, but they are made with potato starch made from potatoes. 

Many types of potato starch are used in products like Pringles. Pringles use potato starch because it’s very stable and doesn’t break down.

Pringles are a brand of potato chips that are made from potatoes. They use potato starch as a coating for the chips and are not baked in animal fat.

Although they contain no animal products, growing and processing the potatoes use water. And other chemicals, so they are not considered vegan.’

Which Pringles Flavours are Vegan?

There are several vegan flavours of Pringles. They are gluten-free and contain no eggs, unnecessary dairy, or actual meat products.

They are made with corn, potato, and wheat products only. The regular potato chips are not vegan flavours.

The chips are made from potatoes, corn syrup, and hydrogenated oil. But, there are some vegan versions of Pringles.

  • Plain flavour
  • Sour flavour
  • Sweet flavour
  • Salt & Vinegar Pringles
  • Sour cream flavour

They are made without animal products and contain no artificial flavours, colours, or preservatives.

Pringles are a brand of potato chips that are crispy, salty, and delicious. They are a classic snack that is perfect for snacking on the go.

Which Pringles Flavours are not Vegan?

Some friendly pringles are not vegan because they contain gelatin from animal bones.

But, they are still a good source of fibre and potassium. It also contains some healthy fats and B vitamins.

Pringles are a potato chip brand made from potatoes, corn, and wheat. They are not vegan.

Pringles are not entirely vegan because the potato chips contain lard besides other filler ingredients that may be animal-derived.

There are non-vegan Pringles, such as the original and BBQ pringles.

The Original Pringles are made with Beef, Bacon, and Pork.

They are the variety that contains milk ingredients, which are not vegan. They are labelled as “non-dairy products.”

Find out whether Gardetto’s are vegan or non-vegan!

Do Pringles Contain Palm Oil?

Pringles are made from potato or rice flour and vegetable oil. The more ingredient that comes close to palm oil is vegetable oil. 

They are made with a variety of oils and spices, including palm oil. The amount of palm oil used in each bag of classic corn chip varies from brand to brand.

If you want to be sure that your Pringles contain no palm oil, look for the original ingredient list on the bag.

There are types of oils that are used in the production of vegan food: 

  • olive oil
  • palm oil
  • rapeseed oil
  • And soybean oil.

Palm oil is a vegetable oil produced by crushing and pressing the fruit of the palmyra palm tree.

Pringles most likely contain palm oil, which is a big problem for vegans. So if you’re a vegan, you should look for Pringles that are certified vegan.

Moreover, you should also read our article about Twinkies, whether they are vegan or not.

Other Vegan Chips Alternative to Pringles

Chips are vegan if they don’t contain any animal products. Many brands of chips, crackers, and snack foods are vegan.

Here is a quick list of some of the other vegan alternatives to Pringles that you might be interested in.

1. Tofurky Pringle Style Chips
They are the same as the Pringles, but they are made from tofu instead of potatoes.

2. Vegan Nacho Cheese Doritos
Made from corn tortillas, these are like a cross between Pringles and Doritos.

3. Tostitos Crispy Original Corn Chips
These are delicious and crunchy! They’re made from corn, a grain, not a vegetable.

4. Funyuns
These are like corn chips and are also made from corn. They’re found at grocery stores and convenience stores, but they can be found in some health food stores too.

5. Doritos
Like the Tostitos Crispy Corn Chips, Doritos are also made from corn. They are made from corn flour and are sometimes called corn chips.

6. Cheez-Its
Cheez-Its are made from wheat flour but also corn.

7. Tostitos Crispy Cool Ranch
 These are like Tostitos Crispy Corn Chips, but they are made with Cool Ranch Dressing.

Homemade Vegan Chips Recipe

If you’ve got a lot of leftover veggies in the fridge and no idea what to do with them, why not make your own homemade chips? There are lots of ways to make this happen, and we’ll show you how here.

From simple potato chips to oven-baked bread crumbs, these recipes are versatile enough to satisfy any cravings.

Base ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • Vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder
  • Pepper


Step 1: Place a large baking sheet inside a preheated oven (375°F).

Step 2: Peel and dice 1 medium sweet potato or potato per serving. Weigh the pieces on a scale before cutting so that you don’t waste food.

Step 3: Add 2 cups of vegetable oil to a saucepan, then add the chopped potatoes. Stir occasionally as the mixture simmers, making sure not to brown the pieces.

Step 4: Once the potatoes are tender, remove from the heat and stir in 1 tablespoon of salt per cup of potatoes. Using a slotted spoon, scoop the cooked potato pieces onto the prepared baking sheet to cool.

Step 5: When the chips have cooled, toss in 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder. This will lend your chips their signature flavour.

Step 6: Sprinkle salt and pepper on top as desired. Your homemade chips are now ready!

Last Words

I hope you learned a few things about the differences between Pringles. I am looking at creating a more comprehensive list of which non-vegan snacks are vegan as well. Thanks for reading!

Moreover, it would help if you also read our article about Lay’s whether they are vegan or not.

Mike Halladay

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *