Skip to content

Are Fruitella Vegan? Here’s What You Need To Know!

  •  

Are Fruitella Sweets Vegan?

Fruitella Sweets are made with natural ingredients. They are not vegan because they contain gelatin.

Other ingredients include corn syrup and gelatin, which makes it non-vegan. 

They do not use animal products, but the company uses a type of gelatin as a binding agent. If you’re a vegan, we recommend trying their vegan products using a different recipe.

What Are Fruitella Candies?

Fruitella candies are made from real fruit juice. Like cherries, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries. The company has been around since 1855, and they produce about 25 million pounds of candy each year.

Their candy comes in different flavours such as:

  • Chocolate
  • Strawberry
  • lemon
  • Raspberry
  • Orange
  • Cherry
  • Banana
  • And pineapple.

The best part about a variety of candies is that they taste great and are healthy. They are so popular and are why they are still being made to this day.

Does Fruitella contain pork gelatin?

Yes, Fruitella contains pork or beef gelatin, derived from the collagen found in pigskin. Collagen creates food gels for desserts such as Jell-O and marshmallows.

Pork gelatin is made from pigskin boiled for hours until it becomes soft and then cut into small pieces. The pieces are added to water and heated until they dissolve, yielding a clear solution.

This solution is then left to cool down, and it turns into jelly when it reaches room temperature.

Even though Fruitella does not contain any meat products, swine gelatin is used in the production process.

Is Fruitella gelatine free?

Fruitella contains gelatine in its ingredients list. It indicates that at least one ingredient is from animal sources.

Gelatin is used as an emulsifier in ice cream, yoghurt, and mayonnaise. It also helps stabilize sauces and gravies.

It’s the stuff that makes jelly and jam jelly-like. Fruitella is not vegan because it contains gelatine.

But, there are types of plant-based alternatives to gelatin, including agar, carrageenan, locust bean gum, pectin, xanthan gum, and guar gum. These ingredients are often used in place of gelatin in vegan recipes.

Other Sweets Alternative To Fruitella

Choosing a suitable sweetener is a matter of personal preference. With so many sweeteners to choose from, you’re bound to find one that suits you.

There are many other vegan sweets alternatives to fruitella, such as:

  • Fruitcake
  • Mincemeat pie
  • Gingerbread cake
  • Fudge
  • Caramel covered nuts
  • Honey roasted peanuts

You can try another range of sweets such as nuts and chocolate chips or you can use dried fruits. But, these sweets are usually made from dried fruits and are less healthy than fruitella. 

Natural foods are a great and healthy way to keep fit. Many people prefer natural foods because they taste better than other vegan-friendly sweets.

Final Words

After reading this article, I hope that you’ll have a deeper understanding of what Fruitella is. And be able to make an informed decision when purchasing.

It all comes down to your own beliefs and what is suitable for you and your family.

nv-author-image

Mike Halladay

Hey! Mike Here! I love all things vegan. I am a Dad of 2 youngs boys and a food lover and amateur Chef. I transitioned to being a Vegan 9 years and it was one of the best decisions I have made in my life. My health and lifestyle improved beyond belief! This is why I started VeganTab.com to spread the word!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.